blog #4 reponse/As a Hiring Filter

If you were employer, would you want to know the credit history of you employee? If you were a perspective employee would you feel it was just for an employer to check your credit history? Working as a retail manager, and being an employee of retail companies, I know that there are background checks performed on their employees before they are hired by a third party. What I don’t know is exactly what that background check entails. Does it include a credit history? So now it makes me think, is that all right that I don’t even know the answer to whether or not they are checking my credit history or that of a person who might become my employee. At this point, I’m going to say no. But how would I feel if they did a credit history on me, what would they find, and how would they use this information?

My life is pretty much an open book. I know that I have nothing to hide. I also know that people can gain access to almost any kind of information in our technology based society today. Basically, if a company really wanted to know my credit history, I’m sure they could obtain that information. However, without my permission, it wouldn’t be legal and it would be an invasion of my privacy. All thought this would leave them vulnerable to legal action. My thought is if any company wanted to run a credit history on me, I would comply. I have no fear in what might turn up with my credit history because I know that my family was fortunate enough not to have the economy affect our credit. However, that doesn’t mean other people would feel the same as I do because it is a possibility that the economy hasn’t been so kind to them. Or, they just do not believe it is anyone’s business but their own.

My experience as a retail manager tells me, not everything is what it appears to be and not everyone is who they say they are. I have seen employees and peers terminated and walked out the door by security for theft. Some of the most trusted and respected employees and managers have breached policies, stolen merchandise or money, and reported incorrect numbers. It never ceases to amaze me what people will do.
Perhaps running a credit history is important in certain instances depending on your title or position within a company. However, I do not believe that a credit history solely determines the character of an individual.

Martin, A. (2010, 04 10). As a Hiring Filter, Credit Checks Draw Questions. Retrieved 01 30, 2013, from NY Times.com: http://www.nytimescom/2010/04/10/business/10credit.html

Leave a comment