Blog #1 response/Social Media

Social media is something that I know little about. I confess that I do have a facebook and twitter account. I use my facebook account to connect with friends. I joined twitter because one of the teacher’s my daughter had last year asked us to follow him on twitter so we knew what was going on in his classroom. However, I never used twitter because I could pull the same information from the school website. I have heard of google plus but I have never interacted with this site. I do understand that companies use these forms of social media to communicate with people, however, I have never taken the time to investigate this form of communication. Apparently, that is all about to change because of my choice to take business communication in the workplace.

After reading the article “The Developing Role of Social Media in the Modern Business World,” for our assignment, there are a few things that I would like to know. First, how does one get started in creating an account for their business? What kind of information would one put on to the social media network about their business? Are the social networks interactive? Second, if I decided I wanted to pursue a new career to enter into a social media position, what would the curriculum look like? How would that does a marketing curriculum look different or the same as a curriculum that involves social media? What kind of opportunities would be available for me if I went with a marketing degree that involved social media? Finally, where will social media be next year or in five years? These are my questions.

Now for my concerns. Are there any legal implications to social media? Who would be liable for any kind of legal implications? Would that be me or would it by the company where I was employed? What kind of social responsibilities would one have to the company or the consumer?

If anyone out there would like to share their knowledge or opinions, I would be interested in what you would have to say.

Bosari, J. (2012, August 8). The Developing Role of Social Media in the Modern Business World. Retrieved January 21, 2013, from Forbes.com: http://www.forbes/sites/moneywisewomen/2012/08/08the-developing-role-of-social

Leave a comment